Caine Prize quote


Fifteenth Caine Prize shortlist announced

Gus Casely-Hayford
Wole Soyinka

The shortlist for the 2014 Caine Prize for African Writing has been announced today (Tuesday 22 April) by Nobel Prize winner and Patron of the Caine Prize Professor Wole Soyinka, as part of the opening ceremonies for the UNESCO World Book Capital 2014 celebration in Port Harcourt, Nigeria.


To commemorate fifteen years of the Caine Prize this year, £500 will be awarded to each shortlisted writer.


The Chair of judges, award-winning author Jackie Kay MBE described the shortlist as, "Compelling, lyrical, thought-provoking and engaging. From a daughter's unusual way of grieving for her father, to a memorable swim with a grandmother, a young boy's fascination with a gorilla's conversation, a dramatic faux family meeting, to a woman who is forced to sell her eggs, the subjects are as diverse as they are entertaining."


Jackie Kay
(photo credit: Denise Else)

She added, "The standard of entries was exceptionally high so much so that it was actually very difficult for the judges to whittle it down to a shortlist of only five stories. We were heartened by how many entrants were drawn to explorations of a gay narrative. What a golden age for the African short story, and how exciting to see real originality - with so many writers bringing something different to the form."


The winner of the £10,000 prize is to be announced at a celebratory dinner at the Bodleian Library, Oxford, on Monday 14 July. The 2014 shortlist comprises:


The 2014 shortlist comprises:


Read a short biography of the five shortlisted writers here.


View this press release as a PDF here...



Dates for the Diary


This year the shortlisted writers will be reading from their work at the Royal Over-Seas League on Thursday, 10 July at 7pm and at the Southbank Centre, on Sunday, 13 July at 5pm. On Friday, 11 July and Saturday, 12 July the shortlisted writers will also take part in the Africa Writes Festival at The British Library, organised by ASAUK and the Royal African Society.