Caine Prize quote


2010 winner: OLUFEMI TERRY

E C Osondu

The winner in 2010 was Olufemi Terry for his story “Stickfighting Days” from Chimurenga vol 12/13, Cape Town. The Chair of Judges, The Economist's Literary Editor Fiammetta Rocco described it as “ambitious, brave and hugely imaginative... The execution of this story is so tight and the presentation so cinematic, it confirms Olufemi Terry as a talent with an enormous future.”


His fiction and poetry has appeared in Guernica, Blipmagazine and New Contrast.  Olufemi lives in Germany and is working on a novel provisionally entitled The Sum of All Losses.


Read the full press release here...


The 2010 shortlist comprised the following:


A video including interviews with 2010's shortlisted writers:


Workshop Participants
Among participants in the Caine Prize African Writers’ workshops, which have taken place annually since 2003, Eritrean writer Sulaiman Addonia’s first novel, The Consequences of Love, was published by Chatto & Windus in 2008, and Petina Gappah had a collection of her short stories, set in her native Zimbabwe and named for her Caine Prize workshop story An Elegy for Easterly, published by Faber and Faber in 2009. Niq Mhlongo has published three novels Dog Eat Dog (Kwela, 2004), After Tears (Kwela, 2007) and Way Back Home (2013) and Siphiwo Mahala published a novella When a Man Cries (UKZN Press, 2007) and a collection of short stories African Delights (Jacana, 2011).  Yewande Omotoso, who participated in the 2012 workshop in South Africa, had her debut novel Bom Boy (Modjaji Books, 2011) won the South African Literary Award for First Time Author and was shortlisted for the South African Sunday Times Fiction Award 2012.