Caine Prize quote


Caine Prize workshops are held in Africa for writers who have been shortlisted for the Caine Prize and others who have come to our attention through the selection process. Each workshop consists of 12 writers from different African countries who convene for ten days to read and discuss work in progress and to learn from two more experienced writers who act as tutors or animateurs.

Each participant is expected to write a short story for publication in the annual Caine Prize anthology and these stories are automatically entered for the following year's Prize.

Please note that participation in the workshops is by invitation only.

Participants have benefitted enormously from working with other African writers as few of them have the opportunity to meet writers from other African countries or have their work commented upon by those more experienced. They maintain contact with one another thereafter, exchanging texts and critical comments by e-mail and thus establishing a network of aspirant writers in anglophone Africa.

One workshop participant was shortlisted in 2006 and another highly commended by the judges in 2007. The 2007 winner, Monica Arac de Nyeko from Uganda, had participated in our 2005 workshop, and the 2008 winner, Henrietta Rose-Innes (South Africa), was at the workshop that year, as was our 2010 winner, Olufemi Terry, from Sierra Leone.

Although each workshop is by nature a retreat there is an open-day halfway through providing an opportunity for the participants to meet other local writers and interested personalities, and a public reading at the end of the workshop to reach a wider audience.


We have held twelve such workshops to date, one a year from 2003, four of them in South Africa, four in Kenya, one in Ghana, one in Cameroon, one in Uganda and one in Zimbabwe. The 2014 workshop was held in Zimbabwe and workshops are planned elsewhere in Africa in the coming years.


The Caine Prize One Day Short Story Surgery in Port Harcourt, Nigeria, was a one-off event for 14 writers, on 20th October 2014 and was devised with the Port Harcourt Book Festival as part of the celebration of their 2014 UNESCO World Book Capital status.


2015 Workshop


Leila Aboulela (Winner 2000)
Zukiswa Wanner

Jemila Abdulai
Dalle Abraham
Nkiacha Atemnkeng
Diane Awerbuck (Shortlist 2014)
Nana Nyarko Boateng
Efemia Chela (Shortlist 2014)
Jonathan Dotse
Akwaeke Emezi
Onipede Hollist (Shortlist 2013)
Timothy Kiprop Kimutai
Jonathan Mbuna
Aisha Nelson

2014 One Day Short Story Surgery


Ellah Wakatama Allfrey (Deputy Chair)
Abubakar Adam Ibrahim (Shortlist 2013)
Stanley Onjezani Kenani (Shortlist 2008 & 2012)

Pemi Aguda

Victor Emmanuel Idem
Nihinlola Ifeoluwa
Anaele Ihuoma
Ndubuisi Chibuike Newman
Jennifer Nkem-Eneanya
Kechi Nomu
Joy Nwiyi
Louis Ogbere
Ikenna Okey
Owoyemi Olorunfemi
Adeniyi Mopelola Omoyeni
Tope Rotimi
Onwuasoanya Chika Tobi

2014 Workshop


Henrietta Rose-Innes (Winner 2008)
Nii Parkes

Abdul Adan
Martin Egblewogbe

Clifton Gachagua
Lawrence Hoba
Abubakar Ibrahim (Shortlist 2013)
Elnathan John (Shortlist 2013)

Barbara Mhangami-Ruwende
Bella Matambanadzo
Philani Amadeus Nyoni
Chinelo Okparanta (Shortlist 2013)
Bryony Rheam
Gertrude Zhuwao

2013 Workshop

Veronique Tadjo

Pamela Nichols

Harriet Anena

Lilian Aujo

Rotimi Babatunde (Winner 2012)

Abubakar Ibrahim

Elnathan John

Billy Kahora (Shortlist 2012)

Davina Kawuma

Stanley Kenani (Shortlist 2012)

Wazha Lopang

Melissa Myambo (Shortlist 2012)

Hellen Nyana

Michael Phoya

2012 Workshop
(South Africa)

Henrietta Rose-Innes
Jamal Mahjoub

Mehul Gohil

Grace Khunou
Lauri Kubuitsile (Shortlist 2011)

Beatrice Lamwaka (Shortlist 2011)
Brenda Mukami
Tendai Rinos Mwanaka
Waigwa Ndiangui
Yewande Omotoso
Rehana Roussouw
Rachel Zadok

2011 Workshop (Cameroon)

Jamal Mahjoub
Véronique Tadjo

Jide Adebayo-Begun
Ken Barris (Shortlist 2003 & 2010)
Shadreck Chikoti
Dona Forbin
Lawrence Kadzitche
Monique Kwachou
Beatrice Lamwaka
Ayodele Morocco-Clarke
Elizabeth Ngozi Okpalaenwe
Namwali Serpall (Shortlist 2010)
Alex Smith (Shortlist 2010)
Olufemi Terry (Winner 2010)

2010 Workshop (Kenya)

Jamal Mahjoub
Véronique Tadjo

Ovo Adagha
Alnoor Amlani
Jude Dibia
Mamle Kabu (Shortlist 2009)
Stanley Onjezani Kenani (Shortlist 2008)
Samuel Munene
Clifford Chianga Oluoch
Gill Schierhout (Shortlist 2008)
Vuyo Seripe
Valerie Tagwira
Novuyo Rosa Tshuma
Molara Wood

2009 Workshop (Ghana)

Aminatta Forna
Jamal Mahjoub

Franka-Maria Andoh

Ayesha Harruna
Brian James
Blessing Musariri
Naseehu Ali
Thabisani Ndlovu
Henrietta Rose-Innes (Winner 2008)
Mohamed Gibril Sesay
Alba K Sumprim
Uche Peter Umez
Uzor Maxim Uzoatu (shortlist 2008)

2008 Workshop
(South Africa)

Aminatta Forna
Jamal Mahjoub

Monica Arac de Nyeko (Winner 2007)
Ellen Banda-Aaku
Karen Hurt
Kingwa Kamencu
Russell H Kaschula
Jacqueline Lebo
Kgaogelo Lekota
Kaume Marambii
Wame Molefhe
Henrietta Rose-Innes (Winner 2008)
Olufemi Terry (Winner 2010)
Ada Udechukwu